Founders Celebration 2016


Founders Celebration

Join us as we commemorate the day UC San Diego was founded in November 1960, when UC San Diego’s founders put into motion a bold idea for a new kind of university, one that is powered by curious minds who aren’t afraid to travel the unbeaten path. #ucsdfounders

Founders Day

Noon–2 p.m.
Town Square
Open to the public

All are invited to a bustling carnival featuring live entertainment, tasty treats and activities. Visit interactive exhibits from academic departments across campus to learn how UC San Diego’s dynamic past has helped shape the campus’s present as a place where discovery thrives.

UC San Diego Founders Day Celebration


Town Square and Matthews Quad
UC San Diego undergraduate ID required

Each year, as part of the annual Founders Celebration, AS Concerts and Events (ASCE) presents Hullabaloo, an undergraduate-only festival that transforms the center of campus into an explosion of lights, colors and music to celebrate the bright and passionate UC San Diego spirit. Don’t miss this night of delicious food, thrilling rides and live performances by nationally touring artists.

Get updates:

Follow @ucsdasce on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and SnapChat.

UC San Diego Hullabaloo

Honors: 2016 Medalists

We are truly grateful to these individuals who are reenvisioning what it means to make a difference. Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla will honor these visionaries at special ceremonies for the Revelle Medal and Chancellor’s Medal on Nov. 18 and 19.

Founders 2014 Medalists

Revelle Medal Honorees

The Revelle Medal recognizes current and former faculty members for their sustained, distinguished and extraordinary service to the campus. The award is named in honor of UC San Diego’s founder Roger Revelle.

View past Revelle Medal Medal honorees.

Y.C. Fung
Y. C. “Bert” Fung
Roger Reynolds
Roger Reynolds
V. Ramanathan
Veerabhadran Ramanathan
Palmer Taylor
Palmer Taylor

Chancellor’s Medal Honorees

The Chancellor’s Medal is one of the highest honors bestowed by UC San Diego to honor exceptional service in support of the university’s mission.

View past Chancellor’s Medal honorees.

Peter Farrell
Peter C. Farrell
Richard and Carol Dean Hertzberg
Richard Hertzberg and Carol Dean Hertzberg
Marion and Kwan So
Marion and Kwan So
Daniel Yankelovich
Daniel Yankelovich