Founders Celebration 2016


Founders Celebration

Join us as we commemorate the day UC San Diego was founded in November 1960, when UC San Diego’s founders put into motion a bold idea for a new kind of university, one that is powered by curious minds who aren’t afraid to travel the unbeaten path. #ucsdfounders

Founders Day

Noon–2 p.m.
Town Square
Open to the public

All are invited to a bustling carnival featuring live entertainment, tasty treats and activities. Visit interactive exhibits from academic departments across campus to learn how UC San Diego’s dynamic past has helped shape the campus’s present as a place where discovery thrives.

UC San Diego Founders Day Celebration


Town Square and Matthews Quad
UC San Diego undergraduate ID required

Each year, as part of the annual Founders Celebration, AS Concerts and Events (ASCE) presents Hullabaloo, an undergraduate-only festival that transforms the center of campus into an explosion of lights, colors and music to celebrate the bright and passionate UC San Diego spirit. Don’t miss this night of delicious food, thrilling rides and live performances by nationally touring artists.

Get updates:

Follow @ucsdasce on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and SnapChat.

UC San Diego Hullabaloo

Honors: 2016 Medalists

We are truly grateful to these individuals who are reenvisioning what it means to make a difference. Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla will honor these visionaries at special ceremonies for the Revelle Medal and Chancellor’s Medal on Nov. 18 and 19.

Founders 2014 Medalists

Revelle Medal Honorees

The Revelle Medal recognizes current and former faculty members for their sustained, distinguished and extraordinary service to the campus. The award is named in honor of UC San Diego’s founder Roger Revelle.

View past Revelle Medal Medal honorees.

Y.C. Fung

Y. C. “Bert” Fung

Widely considered one of the most eminent bioengineering scientists in the world, Y. C. “Bert” Fung was recruited by UC San Diego to establish the bioengineering program in 1966. Fung created the new field of biomechanics, an interdisciplinary field in which engineering principles and techniques are used to solve important biomedical problems. Decades ago, Fung had the foresight to recognize the vast potential contributions that engineering could have on medicine at a time when the two fields were entirely separated. Today, in large part due to his groundbreaking ideas, the barriers between engineering and medicine have disappeared, creating myriad innovations to benefit patients.

V. Ramanathan

Veerabhadran Ramanathan

Veerabhadran Ramanathan, a world-renowned climate scientist at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, discovered the greenhouse effect of chlorofluorocarbons and showed these superpollutants to be 10,000 times more potent than carbon dioxide in warming the climate. Ramanathan then showed that curbing emissions of the short-lived climate superpollutants, black carbon, methane and hydrofluorocarbons, can cut warming by as much as 50 percent within decades. His research has led to major policy actions by President Obama, the United Nations and Governor Jerry Brown. Ramanathan is now engaging religious leaders such as Pope Francis and the Dalai Lama to educate Earth’s citizens to be good stewards of our planet.

Roger Reynolds

Roger Reynolds

Composer Roger Reynolds joined UC San Diego’s music faculty in 1969 and has since mentored generations of young composers and won a Pulitzer Prize. He remains a leader in exploring ways to harness new technologies for musical purposes. His work blends elements of theatre, literature, dance, video, digital signal processing and real-time computer spatialization. Reynolds’ music has been commissioned, performed, written about and recorded around the world at venues including the Royal Albert Hall in London, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, Suntory Hall in Tokyo and Lincoln Center in New York. Reynolds was appointed University Professor in 2009, becoming the first artist to be honored with that UC-wide title.

Palmer Taylor

Palmer Taylor

Palmer Taylor founded the Department of Pharmacology in the School of Medicine, and the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. He has played an instrumental role in recruiting top faculty, establishing the first basic science department in the School of Medicine, developing doctoral training in pharmacology, and providing mentorship to graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. As founding dean of the Skaggs School, he helped build the professional school to national and international prominence. Taylor’s research and interdisciplinary collaborations have accelerated drug discovery and benefited society—from developing novel antidotes to poisoning from pesticide exposure, to finding avenues for improved pharmacological treatments for central nervous system disorders associated with dementia and aging.

Chancellor’s Medal Honorees

The Chancellor’s Medal is one of the highest honors bestowed by UC San Diego to honor exceptional service in support of the university’s mission.

View past Chancellor’s Medal honorees.

Peter Farrell

Peter C. Farrell

Through the company he founded, ResMed, Peter C. Farrell revolutionized the way sleep-related breathing disorders are treated. With his philanthropy to UC San Diego, Farrell established a legacy of invention, improvement and progress. He has contributed to a variety of multidisciplinary programs across campus, supporting the Sulpizio Cardiovascular Center at UC San Diego Health, The Preuss School UCSD, Rady School of Management and the Farrell Fund in cardiology. The Peter C. Farrell Sleep Center of Excellence and Peter C. Farrell Presidential Chair in Pulmonary Medicine were named in Farrell’s honor and in recognition of a gift from ResMed to UC San Diego.

Richard and Carol Dean Hertzberg

Richard Hertzberg and Carol Dean Hertzberg

Richard Hertzberg and Carol Dean Hertzberg have shown their generosity and philanthropic vision with nearly two decades of support for UC San Diego. In 2015, the Hertzbergs made a transformative gift to establish the Center for Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation at Scripps Institution of Oceanography in order to address the serious problems climate change poses. The couple has also made substantial gifts to areas across campus, including cutting-edge medical research, the Hertzberg Schechter Endowed Prize for Stem Cell Research, the Institute for Genomic Medicine, The Preuss School UCSD and the Chancellor’s Scholars Fund.

Marion and Kwan So

Marion and Kwan So

Beginning with their first gift of $7 to UC San Diego in 1975, Marion and Kwan So have forged a strong bond with the campus. They have made a significant impact by supporting undergraduate education, the health sciences, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and the School of Global Policy and Strategy. The couple has played a key role in positioning UC San Diego as one of the world’s top universities for research on contemporary China, which culminated in the founding of the 21st Century China Center. They have also established the Ho Miu Lam Fellowship, the Sokwanlok Chair in Chinese International Affairs, and the Ho Miu Lam Chair in China and Pacific Relations.

Daniel Yankelovich

Daniel Yankelovich

Renowned social researcher and public opinion analyst Daniel Yankelovich has spent decades monitoring social change and public opinion. Dubbed the “dean of American pollsters,” he is perhaps best known for starting The New York Times/Yankelovich poll (now the CBS News/New York Times poll), and for co-founding the not-for-profit Public Agenda. Yankelovich’s passion for bringing together social science theory and practice for the betterment of society led him to establish the Daniel Yankelovich Chair in Social Thought at UC San Diego and to endow the Yankelovich Center for Social Science Research, a problem-driven research center in the Division of Social Sciences.